Mid life career change?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
lakerjoshua
Franchise Player
Franchise Player

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 4:10 pm    Post subject: Mid life career change?

I had my Jerry Meguire moment.

I'd walked into my well paid tech sales job, sat at my desk, glanced over at our new college grad MBA sales manager. He caught the glacé and walked over.

Lakerjoshua, he says. "You seem unhappy. Is it because I ask you to stand up? We bought all the sales people these amazing desks that go up and down. You don't like yours? Is it broken?"

I say, no it's not that.

He reaches down and hits the up button, the desk raises chest high (I'm in my chair)

He looks at me and says "see, it's not broken, are you?

>Forward 6 months

I'm a Plumbing Apprentice. 35$ and hour, full benefits, I get to travel and meet new people. If I'm mad I can always just pound out a tile shower with a 5lb sledge. I don't think I've ever been so happy in my life at age 37 and in better shape than when I was 27.

How did I miss this happiness? Is it too late for me to be a tradesman? Should I feel less important because I deal in poo instead of intellect?

Thoughts?
Huey Lewis & The News
Star Player
Star Player

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 4:13 pm    Post subject:

are you italian
Mike@LG

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 4:38 pm    Post subject:

Do what you love. Period.

https://lakersdraft.substack.com/

I am not an economic advisor nor do I advise economic strategies or plans.
DaMuleRules
Retired Number
Retired Number

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 4:39 pm    Post subject: Re: Mid life career change?

lakerjoshua wrote:

I'd walked into my well paid tech sales job, sat at my desk, glanced over at our new college grad MBA sales manager. He caught the glacé and walked over.