First Time House Buying - what should I know, what should I do?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Retired Number
Retired Number

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 11:43 am    Post subject: First Time House Buying - what should I know, what should I do?

What advice do you have for a first time house buyer? I am a noob, doing this on my own.

Give it to me.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
audioaxes
Franchise Player
Franchise Player

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:20 pm    Post subject:

zillow mortgage finder is a good tool to find the best rates at the moment. 99% of the time it will not be some big box bank you heard of

always factor in HOA and special tax assessments on a house... for a rough example a 500K house with $150/month HOA + 2% total tax rate could cost the same monthly as a 650K house with no HOA and 1.1% tax rate

be prepared for various closing costs to add up even if the loan itself has zero closing fees. seen a few who thought they were ready to buy but in reality needed several most grand for downpayment and closing costs.

try to have your downpayment and closing cost money sitting in a bank account for 2 months to avoid being interrogated on the source of the funds.

if you are looking for a way to maximize savings you can go with a discount agent such as redfin who will give you a 1% or more credit. But do note these discount agents often will not do all the legwork that a full service agent will such as guided house tours and being on site during inspection and appraisal.
yinoma2001
Retired Number
Retired Number

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:23 pm    Post subject:

My wife and I bought our first house in 2006. My wife said, "oh we'll flip this bad boy in like 2-3 years."

12 years later we're still here.
Dr. Funkbot
Star Player
Star Player

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:32 pm    Post subject: