Anyone run a marathon (or half marathon)?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
leor_77
Franchise Player
Franchise Player

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 10:09 pm    Post subject: Anyone run a marathon (or half marathon)?

I have been running for the past 8 months. I do it about 3-4 times a week. My average run is 5 miles, and my long run is a little over 8 miles. The good thing is that I just do it for health reasons, and because I enjoy it, but I've always wondered if I could be able to run a marathon (even a half marathon, which seems a lot more doable).

Has anyone ever ran one, and how would someone train from an 8 mile long run to an actual marathon?
cathy78
Star Player
Star Player

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 11:08 pm    Post subject:

There are lots of good training plans available, just google and pick the one you like the most. Just don't forget to have fun!
Gatekeeper
Star Player
Star Player

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 8:56 am    Post subject:

Have you run a 5K or a 10K before? Given your training, I think a half marathon is doable, but a full 26 might be pushing it (unless you're jogging for most of the time).
Mike@LG

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:38 am    Post subject:

You'll be able to, especially if the 8 mile is the long run.

When I was running half marathons, I was adding +1 mile per week until I got to 10 miles a run. Then I would stagger long and short runs to not wear out.

Mentally though, I had to run 14 miles to get over that 13.1 hump. Once I knew I could do 14, then rest, I knew I could do well for a half.

In your case since you run 3x a week

8-4-8

9-4-9

10-5-10

10-6-10

11-5-11

Once you get to this point, some don't go over 11 and just say it's just 2 more miles, no biggie.

https://lakersdraft.substack.com/

I am not an economic advisor nor do I advise economic strategies or plans.
vanexelent
Retired Number
Retired Number

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 1:05 pm    Post subject: