guitar advice

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Laker_Town
Retired Number
Retired Number

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:16 pm    Post subject: guitar advice

Ive been playing for a year..on and off. Ive still got a lot to learn and cant say i have really mastered barre chords. I get a decent sound, but sometimes i find myself pressing too hard..so much so, that my hand cramps up.(especially in a song that has a bunch of barre chord changes)

My question is about the strings:

I play steel string acoustic and havent changed the strings yet..Not sure how often they shoud be changed. Also, when I do change them, is there a "softer" steel string that I can use? Im hoping that if there is, Ill be able to play a smoother barre chord.

thanks
Dorray
Star Player
Star Player

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:15 pm    Post subject:

I've been playing guitar for about 9 years so I think I can help you out. I like to use heavier gauge strings because I think they sound more full and just better in general. But starting out, especially learning barre chords, you should use lighter gauge strings. I like 11s or 12s personally but I think you should try out 9s. I use D'Addario and Ernie Ball a lot. Honestly, I can't tell the difference all that much between brands. But you can definately tell the difference between 9s and 12s. Try using 'extra light' strings and playing barre chords will become much easier. Also, to get more hand strength, play scales (chromatic, major, minor, whatever) up and down the neck over and over. It gets boring but its really worth it in the long run. You could also masterbate 4 times a day. I had trouble with barre chords when I first started too (as I would think most people do) but with practice you won't even have to think about it anymore.
Laker_Town
Retired Number
Retired Number

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:32 pm    Post subject:

can you point out some good sites were i can learn scales?

thanks