Count the 1947 Championship! We have 18 rings! (updated)
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Post new topic    LakersGround.net Forum Index -> LA Lakers Lounge Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dr. Laker
Franchise Player
Franchise Player

PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2010 9:10 am    Post subject: Count the 1947 Championship! We have 18 rings! (updated)

On another board, I've been ranting and raving for about 10 years about how we're being cheated out of a championship in the NBA.

Back in 1948, when the Lakers moved from Detroit to Minneapolis, the Lakers won the NBL Championship. The NBL then merged with the BAA to form the NBA, where the Lakers continued to dominate, but were not allowed to claim the 1948 title.

The Lakers are officially an "expansion" team and not one of the original NBA teams, but we should count the '48 team as a champion and hang their banner.

All of the teams that came over from the ABA - Pacers, Nets, Nuggets, Spurs - are allowed to count their ABA Titles in their teamhistory, even though they weren't NBA Championships.

Ours should count, too.

Eff you, Celtics - we have 17 and will PASS you in 2010-11.

Last edited by Dr. Laker on Fri May 28, 2021 3:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Jeffs
Retired Number
Retired Number

PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2010 9:14 am    Post subject:

Quote:
All of the teams that came over from the ABA - Pacers, Nets, Nuggets, Spurs - are allowed to count their ABA Titles in their teamhistory, even though they weren't NBA Championships.

No they don't. At least not on the lists we see ESPN/TNT show on the screen.

I feel like I just watched someone TRULY give 100%. Not the BS I'm-gonna-give-a-110%-just-like-everyone-else-says platitudes, but someone that went until he just....broke. - GT
grimmz4764
Star Player
Star Player

PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2010 9:15 am    Post subject:

Were they still the Gems or were they the Lakers?
Dr. Laker
Franchise Player
Franchise Player